Who Am I?

Recently I was listening to one of my new favorite artists, Vance Joy, and his song “Who Am I” and I got thinking, who am I? This question is a question everyone ponders at least once in their life, if not more. We ask ourselves this when we go through periods of change, hardship or even during joyous moments.

As a high school student I feel like myself and my peers are constantly asked to look inward and explain ourselves at almost every turn; college applications, job interviews, and sports profiles are just a few examples. They all ask you to list your best qualities and your worst qualities, your strengths and weaknesses, your likes and dislikes.

I can say I’m a planner, a hard worker, a leader, a team player, and a trustworthy person. I can tell you that I like working with others, but when nobody pulls their weight I would rather work alone. I can explain all of my leadership positions and clubs I participate in to show that I truly am a responsible person. I can go on and on about all of these qualities that I’ve come to define myself by, but at the end of the day, is that really me?

Some days I’m not a planner, I just let whatever happens happen. Other days I’m not a team player, I would rather do everything myself and make sure the job is done right. Heck, some days I’m not responsible and I let everyone else take care of everything.

My point is that while I think knowing yourself is important, defining yourself as one thing is ridiculous. Don’t freak out if you label yourself as an optimist but some days you’re pessimistic. You are constantly changing and growing as a person. It’s ok to not know who you are yet. In the song it says, “And there’s no need for us/Knowing all the answers yet.” There are people at all ages who don’t know who they are, what the want to do or where they want to be.

Vance Joy doesn’t know yet. None of us do.

One thought on “Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

