In the Age of New, Try Something Old

We all like to get excited about movie adaptations of our favorite books. In recent years the anticipation has been for the Hunger Games franchise and the Divergent franchise, both amazing series about the future of our world. They both have strong female leads in a setting where their world is quite literally crumbling around them.

I have loved both of these series and their partner movies, but I have a different, slightly out of the box suggestion for someone looking for a good book to read and movie to watch.

Gone With The Wind.

The novel cover says it at, calling the book, “The greatest love story of our time…” and “America’s most beloved epic novel.” I’m aware that most high school students have never read the book. Many have you have probably never heard of it, and if you have, you probably decided it was too old or too long for you to read. But hear me out.

Yes the book is 1024 pages long. Yes it was written in 1936. And yes, the movie is 3 hours and 58 minutes long. But I can assure you, you will enjoy every single moment of the story.

The storyline itself isn’t too different from the plot of popular book/movies like Hunger Games and Divergent. Scarlett O’Hara is the main character and is a strong female lead. She is living in a era where life as we know it is changing. And her world actually burns down around her at one point. The only difference from the other book/movies is that her story takes place in the past. During the Civil War.

And like Katniss and Peeta, and Tris and Four, Scarlett also has a love interest. His name is Rhett Butler.

I’ll admit, Rhett Butler is one of my favorite characters of all time, but he truly is an amazing character to read and get to know. I like him better than Scarlett and I usually tend to like female characters more. He is a bad guy and a good guy. He is charming and vile. He is level headed and quick tempered all at the same time. He moves the book along and makes the slower paced parts much more interesting. I could go on and on about why you should read this book but if could only give you one reason to read it, he would be it.

While I have talked about the book I haven’t really mentioned the movie so I would like the briefly tell you all you need to know. It was nominated for thirteen Academy Awards and won eight. Vivian Leigh and Clark Gable play Scarlett and Rhett. The special effects may seem cheesy to us now but at the time they were top notch. It’s a classic.

I hope my argument has convinced you to read Gone With The Wind, but if not I will have to keep trying because, “After all, tomorrow is another day.”

Leave a Reply

